What Is The Trans Pacific Partnership Agreement

The Trans-Pacific Partnership (TPP), also known as the Trans-Pacific Partnership Agreement, was a draft trade agreement between Australia, Brunei, Canada, Chile, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Peru, Singapore, Vietnam and the United States, signed on February 4, 2016. After the newly elected US President, Donald Trump, withdrew the US signature of the TPP in January 2017[5], the agreement could not be ratified as requested and did not enter into force. The other countries negotiated a new trade agreement called the Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership, which contains most of the provisions of the TPP and entered into force on December 30, 2018. The original TPP was adopted by some to bring China`s neighbors closer to the United States and reduce their dependence on Chinese trade. The failure to conclude the TPP could indeed allow China to shape regional trade and diplomacy rules through its own trade and investment initiatives, potentially creating regional rules and standards that are less beneficial to US interests. [21] Michael J. Green and Matthew P. Goodman argue that “history will be unreasonable if the TPP fails. If Congress rejects the TPP, trying to broker a similar deal in Asia would reopen demands to the US – and in the meantime would likely give impetus to alternative deals like RCEP, which excludes the US. The momentum behind the US-led international order would turn into a dynamic against it. Future generations of historians will take note of American leadership at this time.

[23] Dan Ikenson, director of Herbert A. The Stiefel Center for Trade Policy Studies in Cato argued in July 2016 that Congress` failure to ratify the Trans-Pacific Partnership this year would do more to undermine U.S. regional and global interests than anything China can do. [181] Stephen M. Walt, a professor of international relations at Harvard University, described the TPP after the Trump administration abandoned the TPP as “a key institution that would have linked a number of Asian countries more closely to the United States.” [186] It started with the P4 trade agreement between only four countries – Brunei, Chile, New Zealand and Singapore – which entered into force in 2006. [36] South Korea had already concluded bilateral trade agreements with some TPP members, but areas such as vehicle manufacturing and agriculture had yet to be agreed, making it somewhat complicated to continue multilateral negotiations on the TPP. [37] South Korea could join the TPP as part of a second wave of expansion of the trade agreement. [38] As of January 2008, the United States . . .

カテゴリー: 未分類   パーマリンク